Mindfills

Getting lost is not a waste of time


I open my eyes ~ free verse


I open my eyes

with trepidation at first

when the storm is at its worst

relinquishing what I had nursed


I open my eyes

to precious delusions

in paths of tenets and expectations

for a life beyond dimensions



I open my eyes

and let them see

from the purest depths of me

a gentle, beautiful, imperfect, reality


And then...I breathe

***

Mindfills for RDP ~ path; Cee’s FOTD; Sammi Cox’s Weekend Writing Prompt ~ tenet (60 words); Marsha Ingrao’s WQW 50 ~ remembering ’22; bloganuary ~ how are you brave

24 responses to “I open my eyes ~ free verse”

  1. I, Can Breathe

    I don’t own much
    I don’t owe much
    I share what I have
    I have hope and love……

    Oh, we, the drowned
    We, the broken
    We, the leftover pieces
    We, hoping for peace

    Liked by 3 people

  2. A well penned reflection on a beautiful look within! It is amazing how wonderful it is to be able to see and accept ourselves. The last line is perfection – we do finally breathe/live when we are able to love what we see!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started