Mindfills

Getting lost is not a waste of time


I woke ~ free verse









I woke up one day and found myself missing;
My eyes were hollow but my skin was shining;
Labels and laurels dressed up my identity;
If that was perfection, it wasn't me.

I set out for the forest and among the trees,
I carved some questions into the breeze;
Some birds nearby came down to take a look
as I sat and listened to the gurgling brook.

No answers came, no wisdom today
but the pellucid peace took my heart away;
I lay on the grass and let time flow free;
If I wake up again, I'll know I'm always me.

Mindfills © 2024 for Sadje’s wdys

***

10 responses to “I woke ~ free verse”

  1. “Labels and laurels dressed up my identity;” – great line! It’s so true that we too often form our identity around other people’s descriptions of us. I love the flight into nature to find true identity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started